The Young Creative Mind

I mentioned in my previous post that adults these days have lost the creativity they once had as kids. It is becoming worse as we age and as technology becomes advanced. We lose touch with our friends and family because we take it for granted that with a few clicks it is easy to send them a message on Facebook, but do we really? No. Human touch is being lost and so is creativity. Human, personal touch is one of the major reasons why we become creative. Read this post to find out why.

Let me go back to a time when I had the wildest imagination. Yes, I had the most creative imagination. I had a bright mind. I was also only 8 years old, and free of worries. I was living with my cousin in Virginia. There was a board game his mom had made as a project for his school. It was a typical step by step game leading to a black hole. I didn’t know what a black hole was at the time. Even though my aunt mentioned that it’s a place where things get trapped and cannot get out, I had another level of imagination. I began building my own concept of the black hole – a magical fantasy world where any of your wishes can be fulfilled and you can gain powers to control your own magic.

I used to lure my cousin into believing my stories. I’d tell him that I’m the only one who has traveled back and forth from the black hole. To shorten the term “black hole” I abbreviated it to “BH” so that no one else would understand what we discussed about. Because this wasn’t real and was solely created by my imagination, I’d keep telling him that you’d have to be up all night in order to visit the BH. We were kids and of course had our own circadian rhythms governing our bodies. It was impossible to stay up all night. Sometimes my cousin would try hard to stay up past 12, but he’d fall asleep. I told him that the average time for the “magic bus” to come and pick us up was around 3AM and only those who were awake with the intent to visit the magical BH could catch the bus.

Oh dear! I cannot begin to say how many time we made “cupcakes” (bread with jam folded in a muffin cup) to plan our journey. We would spend most of our mornings talking about the secret world of the BH and I cannot believe how amazing those days were. I’d make up stories for him to be excited about the world of magic. I then came up with the concept of the “lands” where you can build the kind of land you desire. He wanted the clouds made up of Vanilla ice cream and a big cone holding it. That’s perhaps the earliest sign of me being a story teller. I never realized that later in life, I’d have a growing interest in writing. That stage didn’t emerge till depression hit me (more on that in another post). During my depression phase I lost my creative imagination and began writing deep things. I don’t know if I can revive my 8-year old imagination, but I can certainly try to write creatively. That’s exactly what I’m beginning to do now.

 

 

Leave a comment